Radical Equation: square root of x+2, +1 = square root of x+

moname

square root of x+2, +1 = square root of x+4

1. subtract 1 from both sides to get to isolate left side of equation.
2. multiply each side of equation 2nd power square root of x+2 (squared) + square root of x+4, -1 squared?
3. that leaves x + 2 = x + 3?
Not sure....the answer is -7/4, but have no idea how that was achieved.

I am an older student getting my BA in Sociology, and I so appreciate your help.

Thank you.

I looks to me like you subtracted the 1 from the 4 before squaring.

We cannot do that because the 4 is part of the square root expression and the 1 is not.

We type square roots as sqrt(x + 4).

Your given equation is:

sqrt(x + 2) + 1 = sqrt(x + 4)

It's not really necessary to subtract the 1 first (since we need to square both sides, anyway), but I'll go with that.

sqrt(x + 2) = sqrt(x + 4) - 1

Now, we square both sides to get rid of the radical on the lefthand side.

[sqrt(x + 2)]^2 = [sqrt(x + 4) - 1]^2

You squared the lefthand side, correctly.

x + 2 = [sqrt(x + 4) - 1]^2

The righthand side means [sqrt(x + 4) - 1] * [sqrt(x + 4) - 1].

The expression sqrt(x + 4) - 1 is two terms. We can square this expression using a process known as FOIL.

Are you familiar with FOIL? Symbolically, it looks like this:

(A - B)^2 = A^2 - AB - AB + B^2

After combining like terms, the squared result is A^2 - 2AB + B^2.

With this symbolism, A represents your sqrt(x + 4) term, and B represents 1.

So, you can square sqrt(x + 4) -- that's the A^2 part.

You can multiply sqrt(x + 4) times -1, and double the result -- that's the -2AB part.

You can square -1 -- that's the B^2 part.

Then combine these results.

Here's an example of using FOIL to square a similar expression with two terms.

[sqrt(x - 3) + 5]^2 = [sqrt(x - 3) + 5] * [sqrt(x - 3) + 5]

Using FOIL, I start by multiplying sqrt(x - 3) times sqrt(x - 3) to get x - 3.

Next, I multiply sqrt(x - 3) times -1 to get -sqrt(x - 3).