Rational Exponents and Radicals: simplification

will7675

All of these exponents that are fraction form confuse me!

Problem 1: Simplify:

6^1/5 * 6^3/5

I tried using the TeX format to do the exponents,but because they are fractions, it did not look right. So, in this problem, the exponents are the fractions 1/5 and 3/5, and the ^is the "raised to"symbol

I multiplied 6 and 6 to get 36. Then I added the exponents to get 4/5, and a final answer of 36^4/5. BUT I did not know if I should go further by taking 36^4/5 to get the big number of 335923.2!?! I thought that when there is no letter variable, you go ahead and simplify it all the way. So should I leave it as 36^4/5 or take it further?

Problem 2: Simplify: (7x^3) / (4x^(3/4))

(that is supposed to look like a division/fraction problem!)
Once again, I do not know how to do the TeX symbol for the fraction/division sign, so please do not chew me out! I'm very new to this whole thing, and everyone has to learn for the first time somewhere.

I subtracted the exponents and got 2.25, Then you can't easily divide 7 by 4, so i left the 7/4 and got an answer of 7/4^9/4 which looks wrong and confusing to me, so I did it another way and got a different answer:

I did 7 divided by four and got 1.75, and some some reason added it to the 2.25 i got from subtracting the exponents. That gave me the answer of 4x. Which is probably wrong..ahh help!

Thanks guys and gals, if you can help me out!

will7675 said:
Problem 1:Simplify:

6^1/5 * 6^3/5

I multiplied 6 and 6 to get 36. Then I added the exponents to get 4/5, and a final answer of 36^4/5. BUT I did not know if I should go further by taking 36^4/5 to get the big number of 335923.2!?! I thought that when there is no letter variable, you go ahead and simplify it all the way. So should I leave it as 36^4/5 or take it further?
Merely add your exponents: 1/5+3/5=4/5. \(\displaystyle 6^{\frac{1}{5}}\cdot{6^{\frac{3}{5}}}=6^{\frac{4}{5}}\)

Problem 2: Simplify: (7x^3) / (4x^(3/4))