Scatterplots

James Smithson

Im new to these and I think i have the right answers for my questions but wanted to make sure i do :)

1. is it positive or negative or non?
The relationship is positive as both variables increase.

2. Is it linear or not?
It is linear as a straight line represents the data well

3. is it strong or weak
It is fairly strong however it is not a oerfect relationship

4. are there any outliers?
yes there may be a potential outlier at (26.5, 7.5)

I feel like im on the right lines, im not sure how to elaberate my points yet but just wanted to know im not messing up and I have got the right idea

thank you in advance

Attachments

• Scatterplot of Total (£ million) vs Total (Thousand claims).png
    Scatterplot of Total (£ million) vs Total (Thousand claims).png
    8.5 KB · Views: 7
These are somewhat subjective, unless you were given some specific rules to go by. That's why I haven't answered yet -- I'm hoping someone else is more sure than I am.

But I would say it's not really very linear, and not all that strongly correlated; it looks to me more like a mix of two data sets, one linear and one non-linear. And your outlier is not far enough from others to drop, unless you have already decided what the overall shape is.

Don't take my word for it, though; I'm not a statistician and don't have much experience comparing such judgments with others.

I agree with Dr P and delayed replying for the same reason. Here's my thoughts:
It's generally a positive correlation except at the extreme ends of the data.
I don't think it is linear - there is a definite curved shape to the data.
There's a reasonably strong relationship (but not linear).
Outliers depend on what type of function you use to model the data.

yeh im really unsure about this work hoping I am getting it right but there is nothing to go off i presume becasuse it is subject it just wants my oppinion.

I appreciate the messages