Simplifying fraction with surds on both sides

conwy

So I'm doing an online intro to calculus course, and I've come across this problem:

Screen Shot 2019-10-27 at 1.09.00 pm.png

They want me to simplify a surd expression which is a fraction which has SQRT(3) - 1 on top and SQRT(3) + 1 on the bottom.

So I'm a bit of a beginner here, but I figure maybe the first thing to do is try to get the surd on the top side of the fraction and 1 on the bottom. Then I can simplify the whole thing to just the top part, since any 'x' divided by 1 is simply 'x'.

There seems to be a rule (which I'm still struggling to understand) when multiplying a surd expression by itself, one side of the multiplication has to be the 'inverse' or 'opposite' of the other. I think this is referred to as difference of two squares. So this means that if I have SQRT(3) - 1 on the left side, then I should have SQRT(3) + 1 on the right side, since +1 is the 'inverse' of -1.

So I try it that way:

SQRT(3) - 1 X SQRT(3) - 1
-----------------------------------------------
SQRT(3) + 1 X SQRT(3) - 1

If I'm not mistaken, SQRT(3) X SQRT(3) = 3.
And -1 X -1 should equal just 1.
And 1 X -1 should equal -1.

So I should get:

3 + 1
------------
3 - 1

Which is really:

----

Which is really:

But this is nothing like the actual correct answer (highlighted)!

So I'm trying to figure out - what am I doing wrong here?

Is my error in multiplying both sides by the denominator?
Is my error in how I multiply the surds? Is a SQRT(3) X SQRT(3) not actually equal to 3?
Is my error in how I multiple the coefficients? Is 1 X -1 not actually equal to -1? Is 1 X 1 not actually equal to 1?
Is my error in how I multiple the expressions? Am I doing the multiplication as a whole in an incorrect manner?