Transforming integral to spherical coordinates

Nkj

Hello everyone,
I am studying a book about derivation of Green's function for three dimensional wave equation. In a part of this book it is stated as follows:

Screenshot 2023-12-15 195017.png

I don't understand how this transformation is done. What does it mean geometrically that
in such a manner that the polar axis ([imath]\theta=0[/imath]) lies along the half line from the origin to ([imath]x-\zeta[/imath], [imath]y-\eta[/imath], [imath]z-\xi[/imath])
and how [imath]x-\zeta=0[/imath], [imath]y-\eta=0[/imath] and [imath]z-\xi=R[/imath] are obtained?

Last edited:
I don't quite understand that one particular line ("... so that [imath]x-\xi = 0[/imath]..."), but the rest makes sense to me. I am guessing that [imath]R[/imath] is the length of vector [imath](x-\xi, y-\eta, z-\zeta)[/imath], i.e.,
[math]R = \sqrt{(x-\xi)^2 + (y-\eta)^2 + (z-\zeta)^2}[/math]We also know that [imath]\kappa[/imath] is the length of vector [imath](k,l,m)[/imath], and since [imath]\theta[/imath] is the angle between those two vectors we get the following equality for their dot products:
[math]k(x-\xi)+l(y-\eta)+m(z-\zeta) = \kappa R \cos ( \theta)[/math]To complete the transition from 4.5.6 to 4.5.7 we remember the expression for volume differential in spherical coordinates:
[math]dk\,dl\,dm = \kappa^2 \sin (\theta) \kappa\, d\phi\, d\theta\, d\kappa[/math]Hope this helps, but let us know if it doesn't.

Reactions: Nkj
I hope these additional details make my previous post somewhat more rigorous, but I also hope it doesn't make the whole thing more confusing. So here goes: using, as before,
[math]R = \sqrt{(x-\xi)^2 + (y-\eta)^2 + (z-\zeta)^2}[/math]define the ``new vertical'' unit vector: