Trig Identities

JonathanEngr

Hi, all. It's been YEARS since I've done trig identities, and although I remember many of them, half and double-angle formulas escape me. I'm a professional engineer by trade, so naturally my daughter asks for my help. I'm lost on this one, however. One of her homework problems is to prove the identity in the attached image. Any suggestions would be much appreciated to scrape the rust off of my brain!! Identity.jpg

Hi, all. It's been YEARS since I've done trig identities, and although I remember many of them, half and double-angle formulas escape me. I'm a professional engineer by trade, so naturally my daughter asks for my help. I'm lost on this one, however. One of her homework problems is to prove the identity in the attached image. Any suggestions would be much appreciated to scrape the rust off of my brain!! View attachment 25032
If I were to solve this problem I would start from Right-Hand-Side.

\(\displaystyle \frac{1+ sec(t)}{2*sec(t)} \ \)

\(\displaystyle = \frac{cos(t)+ 1}{2} \ \)

Now use cos(2x) = 2*cos2(x) - 1 and continue....

Hi, all. It's been YEARS since I've done trig identities, and although I remember many of them, half and double-angle formulas escape me. I'm a professional engineer by trade, so naturally my daughter asks for my help. I'm lost on this one, however. One of her homework problems is to prove the identity in the attached image. Any suggestions would be much appreciated to scrape the rust off of my brain!! View attachment 25032
One good rust-removal tool is Google. I'd start, if I were you, by searching for a list of identities, or specifically for the half-angle identity.

But actually, even before that, I'd look in your daughter's book to see what identities are available to her, because that's what she needs to use. (I'd also ask to see her work, just as we do on this site!)