Trigonometric Identities, I don't know where to start

James Ibarra

1587578673743.png

Hi, I'm an 11th grade student having problems on pre calculus
Our instructorr gave us this exercise to atleast have an idea of what trigonometric identities look like because we were about to discuss this topic but due covid19 we were not able to. Can someone guide me into understanding this? Thanks!

Hello, and welcome to FMH! :)

Let's look at the first expression:

[MATH]\sec(\theta)-\cos(\theta)[/MATH]
Let's write this as:

[MATH]\frac{1}{\cos(\theta)}-\cos(\theta)[/MATH]
Now, what do you get when you combine terms using a common denominator?

I literally have no idea, we haven't discussed one bit of this yet. I just wanted to get a head start before classes resume

I literally have no idea, we haven't discussed one bit of this yet. I just wanted to get a head start before classes resume

Let's talk algebra for a moment here...what if I asked you to combine:

[MATH]\frac{1}{x}-x[/MATH]
What would you get?

is it 1 - cos(theta)/cos(theta)?

Let's check:

[MATH]\frac{1-\cos(\theta)}{\cos(\theta)}=\frac{1}{\cos(\theta)}-\frac{\cos(\theta)}{\cos(\theta)}=\sec(\theta)-1[/MATH]
That's not what we started out with. We need to get a common denominator:

[MATH]\frac{1}{\cos(\theta)}-\cos(\theta)=\frac{1}{\cos(\theta)}-\cos(\theta)\cdot\frac{\cos(\theta)}{\cos(\theta)}=\frac{1-\cos^2(\theta)}{\cos(\theta)}[/MATH]
Does that make sense so far?

Okay, the numerator we have now should be familiar to you...consider the Pythagorean identity:

[MATH]\sin^2(\theta)+\cos^2(\theta)=1[/MATH]
What if you subtract \(\cos^2(\theta)\) from both sides...

Yes, so now we have:

[MATH]\frac{\sin^2(\theta)}{\cos(\theta)}[/MATH]
A quick check reveals this is not one of the choices, so we still have some work to do. What about:

[MATH]\frac{\sin^2(\theta)}{\cos(\theta)}=\sin(\theta)\cdot\frac{\sin(\theta)}{\cos(\theta)}[/MATH]
Can you simplify that?