Using Equation to solve Tax Questions

Jasmine123

Hello!
I'm a tax student struggling with a reverse engineered tax question, based on algebraic principles.
Please could someone answer by question by breaking the answer down into a series of steps solving each part at a time as the answer I have from the ICAEW skips too many steps for me to follow.
I can solve these reverse engineering questions when it does not include thresholds to which the tax does not apply but I cannot figure out how to factor in the personal allowance for income tax and primary thresholds for NIC. For simpler questions which only include a rate of tax to the whole amount, I would do Net x (100/100-rate of tax) so for example:
net receipt needs to be 20k, income tax is suffered at 40% and NIC at 2%. What is the gross payment?
Answer: 40+2 = 42%. tax suffered
100-62 = 58%
Gross = 20k x 100/58 = £34,483

Using this principal that I understand, can anyone help me re-arrange the following question which then goes on to include the thresholds which are tax free?

The question is:

If Sarah wishes to receive after-tax (net) income of £20,000, what is the pre-tax (gross) amount the company will have to pay her?
PAYE is 20% of (gross-12,500) (first 12,500 earned is tax-free)
NIC is 12% of (gross-8,636) (first 8636 is NIC tax free)

So far I've got to:
G = 20k + (20% x (G-12,500)) + (12% x (G-8636))

Then it all goes downhill from there

Thank you!

I know nothing about PAYE or NIC, but I'll assume your description is right, and so is your equation (though I would not have written it initially as an equation for G, but as G - (20% x (G-12,500)) + (12% x (G-8636)) = 20,000 ).

What is it that "goes downhill"? To solve the equation, you need to replace percentages with decimals (e.g. 20% with 0.20), then distribute and collect like terms. Please show your work, so we can see what you are doing wrong.