What does structure mean in maths

Jignesh77

I studied mathematics until 12 grade (1994). I work in a healthcare domain but I still love learning mathematics in my spare time.
What does "structure" mean in simple words in the context of mathematics?
Thank you in advance.

There are many structures in mathematics.
One structure is called a group.
A group has a set, G, and an operation on this set called *.
A group has the following properties
1) If a and b are in G, then a*b is in G
2) If a, b and c are in G, then (a*b)*c = a*(b*c)
3) There is an element e in G so that a*e = e*a = a for all a in G
4) For every a in G there exist a' in G so that a*a' = a'*a=e

Does this look familiar to anything that you already learned (It should!)?

I studied mathematics until 12 grade (1994). I work in a healthcare domain but I still love learning mathematics in my spare time.
Thank you in advance.
I'll expand a bit on Steven G's excellent example. We common take "simple" concepts such as the integers and add things to them, constructing different "objects" such as the rational numbers by defining division. You could call this process "building a structure."

-Dan

Thank you in advance.
It might mean several different things. Can you show us the context in which you saw the word?

It was mentioned in a short video on abstract algebra.
Thank you!
In the context of abstract algebra, a “structure” means a set and one or more operations defined on members of the set.

Between college and graduate school, I took a course in abstract algebra. It was fascinating, but I found it very difficult. The primary reason for my difficulty was that I was unfamiliar with almost all the examples so they did not help me see what was being generalized. I’d suggest learning at least matrix algebra before taking on abstract algebra.

To see how the word “structure” is used in abstract algebra, see

and