Which formula is right to use, P(A or B) = P(A) + P(B) - P(A∩B) or P(A ∪ B) = P(A) + P(B) - P(A∩B)?

arzourwayne

Hi there Math Expert,

I really need your help, I'm stuck with this question and indeed, I am new to this subject. With that, I appreciate for someone who willing to help.

Obama is a member of the musical club in local university. The probability that Obama plays a piano is 1/4 and the probability that he plays a bass drum is 5/8. If the probability that he plays both of these instruments is 5/24, what is the probability that he plays the piano or that he plays the bass drum?

So, this question and subject is new to me. I don't really know which formula should use, either addition rules (as shown on title) or maybe other rules. Hopefully, someone out there willing to help me with this. Thanks in advance.

The formula -- there are actually two identical ones -- in the title looks fine to me. Here is an intuitive explanation: when you compute [imath]P(A)+P(B)[/imath] you almost get [imath]P(A\cup B)[/imath], except that you count [imath]P(A \cap B)[/imath] twice: once in [imath]P(A)[/imath] and once in [imath]P(B)[/imath]; to get it right you subtract one of them.

The formula -- there are actually two identical ones -- in the title looks fine to me. Here is an intuitive explanation: when you compute [imath]P(A)+P(B)[/imath] you almost get [imath]P(A\cup B)[/imath], except that you count [imath]P(A \cap B)[/imath] twice: once in [imath]P(A)[/imath] and once in [imath]P(B)[/imath]; to get it right you subtract one of them.
So that is to say, 1/4 + 5/8 - (1/4 ∩ 5/8), is that right?

These symbols, [imath]\cup[/imath] and [imath]\lor[/imath], mean “or.”

These symbols, [imath]\cap[/imath] and [imath]\land[/imath], mean “and.”

[math]0 \le P(X) \le 1.\\ P(X) = 0 \iff X \text { is impossible.}\\ P(X) = 1 \iff X \text { is certain.}[/math]
[math]P(A \cup B) = P(A) + P(B) - P(A \cap B).[/math]