word problem: "If q represents the number of quarters..."

agapela

Hi, I am studying for a Math Competency Exam. There is one algebra problem in my study guide that I can't figure out:

A collection of coins consists of nickels, dimes, and quarters. There are 3 more dimes than quarters and 2 more nickels than quarters. All of the coins together are worth $2.00. If q represents the number of quarters, which of the following equations represents the situation?

Correct Answer: 25q + 10q + 30 + 5q + 10 = 200

Could someone walk me through it?

Last edited by a moderator:
First off, let's assign some variables to our terms. I'll use n for nickels, d for dimes, and q for quarters. A nickel is worth 5 cents, a dime worth 10, and a quarter worth 25. And the total amount of money we have is $2.00, or 200 cents. So, our initial equation is:

5n + 10d + 25q = 200

Then we're told that there are 3 more dimes than quarters. Based on this information, can you then set up an equation for d in terms of q? And the same applies to the nickels, except there are 2 more nickels than quarters. After you have equations for d and n, simply substitute those into the main equation. Then you'll have something like this:

5 * (n in terms of q) + 10 * (d in terms of q) + 25q = 200

Although the problem leaves the answer in the above form, you can go another step and combine your q terms then solve for q, to find the exact number of each coin. I'd strongly recommend doing this, as practice for other problems which may ask you to do just that.

?

Hi, I am studying for a Math Competency Exam. There is one algebra problem in my study guide that I can't figure out:

A collection of coins consists of nickels, dimes, and quarters. There are 3 more dimes than quarters and 2 more nickels than quarters. All of the coins together are worth $2.00. If q represents the number of quarters, which of the following equations represents the situation?

Correct Answer: 25q + 10q + 30 + 5q + 10 = 200